Election results for Manchester City Council

The Green Party failed in their effort to regain the Hulme ward seat that they lost in 2008. The sitting Labour councillor, Nigel Murphy, retained his seat comfortably.
Labour 2445, Lib Dems 1229, Greens 1172, Conservative 490

The Liberal Democrat candidate, Mary di Mauro, has – after a recount – unseated Cllr Richard Cowell, who was the Executive Member for the Environment, by a narrow margin of 25 votes (2503 to 2478)

Overall, the make up of seats on Manchester City Council – Labour 62, Lib Dem 33, Conservative 1 – is unchanged, with the Lib Dems losing two wards to Labour (Rusholme and Gorton South) and gaining two others from Labour (the aforementioned Northenden and Chorlton).

Further analysis in MCFly 48, out this Sunday evening.

For raw numbers (and the other 9 AGMA authorities), the Stockport Express has the raw numbers


About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in elections, Manchester City Council. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s